Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Seasonal

I can't think of a better bird to welcome the holiday season than a brilliant red Northern Cardinal.  And lucky for me, they are a bird I can count on seeing just about every day in our garden.  Today there were several males hanging around, half-heartedly chasing each other, but mostly just looking grand. This one is probably a hatch-year male as I can see remnants of juvenile orange tones on his belly.  By spring, all of his big-boy feathers will be grown in and I am certain he will find himself a mate.  

Many cardinal pairs stay together for life, or until one dies; others change partners at the beginning of the breeding season.  They've been compared to humans in regard to the percentage who "marry for life."  Males start defending their territory in late winter/early spring and will aggressively chase other males away.  In our garden, this is a fairly useless strategy as the minute one male has chased a rival away, another one sneaks right in.  The life of birds...

We had some snow flurries this morning and my hide (which is getting pretty ragged after 3 years) tried to blow away.  Some quick repairs and the hide was back where it belonged, and I was happily huddled inside.  Which is where I snapped this shot.  

I am debating whether to write a holiday letter for family and friends this year.  I am not really sure what to say about this year.  Certainly no exciting travels to share, no family gatherings, no milestone events celebrated...on the other hand, we are all (including parents) alive and healthy, so that's something.  I guess it could be a pretty short letter - we stayed home, we bought a wardrobe of masks, no one got sick.  

You know the drill ... be safe, be kind, be loving (to yourself and others).

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.