Assignments

My step-mom gave me assignment to bring some groceries for her. Some! The list was a full load of shopping car, 128euros including everything that you can imagine!
After spending an hour when collecting everything, I took the groceries for her. As I packed everything into her fridge, I realized that she had had nothing but light and a jar of jam left in her fridge anymore. No wonder she needed everything!
It is now clear to me, that she really can not walk by herself (with her walking aid) to the small neighborhood supermarket and back. It is too long walk, just as I assumed... Help is needed.

We kept good safe distance over a cup of tea and small fresh carelian pie. I had no hurry, as I had nobody waiting at home: Hubby is still on his work journey and our daughter left to Helsinki. Suddenly my step-mom begun to make a list about my dad's belongings. And asked if we could sometime after the funeral share all items and take them with us. Now that is an assignment, if any... of course I should have seen it coming.

One of items was this old miniature train. I once have seen it working. I was a child then and did not know this train even existed anymore. The train is HO-scale, I guess and there is plenty of boxes of rails for it. Heaven knows what else. Pretty thing, and heavy too.

I wonder if my brother would like to have it, or would it be wiser to try to sell it for some enthusiastic... Maybe I could keep it too.

Susanna

Ps. Corona situation in Finland is that the rates are getting higher day by day. In Helsinki/Uusimaa -region the rate is 195,0/100.000 inhabitants whereas here in Pirkanmaa the situation is still a bit better.
The vaccination news has announced today here. Apparently the first people who will get it are the oldest generation and the health care personnel. Followed by people of high health risk etc... I just wonder how a vaccination that is produced in ten months can be safe to use??? Normally producing a vaccination takes years, even ten years, if I have understood right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.