Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Chancelot Mill

I've known this building since the late '60s or early' 70s when I was at school at Trinity Academy. It wasn't until I mentioned it while trying to describe Lindsay Road to Colin yesterday that I discovered that it had a fairly noticeable passageway high up between the buildings. Somehow the Mill had become so familiar to me that it's detail was lost. I am aware that I see and notice different things to others at times. For example , it wasn't until my third visit to Lighthouse Beach in Kovalum that I noticed the lighthouse there, you'd think the name might have given me a clue. That and the fact it was a large red and white striped tower with a searchlight on top standing at one end of the bay!!! Somehow what was all around me was more important and relevant than other landmarks. I worked with small detail like, turning by the shop with the man whose daughter spoke good English, rather than turning at the corner of the road up to the lighthouse, duh.
So it was with Chancelot Flour Mill. I've known it always but never registered that fairly obvious diagonal feature. It's not even that I don't look up, I do, but sometimes things just pass me by.

Today I packed up another parcel, I dropped this one off at the post office though so that's all the postal stuff done. I did a tour of North Edinburgh supermarkets looking for a couple of things and ended up in Ocean Terminal. Debenhams was pretty quiet. I did feel sorry for the staff having to listen to cheery Christmas music when they must be wondering how long they are going to have a job for.

More changes to covid tiers today although Edinburgh remains where we've been since the start of it all. I do feel sorry for those on their own and for those in hospitality. From my own point of view though, to protect ourselves and others we'd probably continue to keep away from other people anyway. I would like to be with the girls, so much, but not till its safe.

Keep safe and well everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.