La vida de Annie

By Annie

"I like this place".

Took Minnie to visit Burton Manor today, a very special place for me before council cutbacks forced its closure. Just as on my last visit it had the air of sudden abandonment - looking through the windows I saw rows of chairs, tables, presentation boards and leaflets. The music room seemed waiting for a dance lesson, the comfy chairs in the lounge expecting a happy chatting throng, the dining room still with tables and chairs ready for breakfast.

The gardens however are well maintained, with shrubs and trees neatly pruned, and though missing the bedding plants previously a feature, the wooded areas were carpeted with swathes of snowdrops in full bloom, and Spring flower buds and blossoms waiting to open. Minnie loved exploring the pathways, sniffing the smells of woodland creatures - evidence of owls, foxes and rabbits - looked puzzled at the sheep, never having seen any, and would have gone down into the Ice House had it not been locked up until April (because bats were hibernating there apparently). I'd love to have seen her draw on her Yorkie roots and flush them out.

The walled garden was a revelation, as it has been lovingly restored by an army of volunteer workers and National Lottery funding - the Victorian greenhouse is fully rebuilt, and the garden is planted with crops and fruit bushes, with even some raised beds of aromatic herbs for the enjoyment of Stroke Association visitors.

The visit was both happy and sad - missing the great times spent there (my very first camera course, bellydancing workshop, reiki attunements and too many other courses to count), but happy to discover that same magical sensation of peace and healing pervades the place even now. As I left I had a strange foreboding that I would not return again, which upset me. I think Minnie picked up on the atmosphere of the place, happily wandering the grounds and calm and relaxed all the way home.

As soon as I parked at home she was sick in the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.