New Year ....

... old habits.

Yes ... I'm starting this new year backblipping! Why change my habits now! Backblipped: Jan. 3, 2021

Anyway ... we almost always go our for a 'first day' walk on January first if the weather allows.  Today we actually got to three of our favorite walking places ... all before it started raining! All three locations are pretty close together so the driving was minimal between each site.

We started at Plainfield Rail Trail for our normal first day walk ... this is where we have been walking on January 1st for several years now.  I was hoping to see a chipmunk here as we have seen them here before on January 1st ... but no chipmunks were seen today even at any of the other locations.  From Plainfield we drove over to Jacobsburg State Park for a very short walk.  While there we pulled into the parking lot of the Education Center as we saw that Ranger Rick had put up a bird feeder.  I sat in the car for a while photographing all the beautiful birds ... which can be seen in my collage.  Pictured here are (clockwise from upper left) Red-bellied woodpecker, silly old birds, black-capped chickadee, white-breasted nuthatch and a tufted titmouse.  I will have to go back some day when the sun is shining to try for better pictures.  The lighting today was terrible. 

From Jacobsburg State Park we drove over to one last place looking for chipmunks ... Graver Arboretum.  It had just started raining by the time we got to Graver so all we did was walk down the trail a bit in order to take some selfies wearing our silly 2021 glasses and hat!  Then we quickly walked back to the car and headed home.  

We went straight home as the temperatures were just about freezing and I was worried about the rain turning to either sleet or freezing rain.  But I needn't have worried as Richard got us home safe and sound. ♥

So that about wraps up the first day of this new year.  I really can't believe that a year has gone by (and what a year it was!) and another one has begun.  I pray that everyone has a safe, healthy and happy new year to come.  

Here's a quote I read recently that I think is perfect:

Be kind. Be patient. Be generous. Be accepting. Be all of these things to yourself. That is where it begins.  ~ Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.