The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Dog arranging

This isn't the best photo I took today, but a lot of effort went into setting up a photoshoot of this dogmeet/blipmeet so I am using it. Here we see Wifie with Gus, and Jenny (The Wren) with Cara and Bruce close to the top of Arnside Knott with a backdrop of the Kent Estuary. You wouldn't believe how difficult it was to get the three dogs to sit together in the same shot. Here Wifie and Jenny were trying to arrange them. I have a feeling Jenny was more successful at getting the shot than me.

Jenny was heading back to Scotland from a week in the south of England with her daughter and grandsons. It's a short diversion from the M6 to visit Arnside, and it is a part of the country she has not been to before. It can be difficult to piece together a mental image of a place from somebody's blips, particularly when like mine, they mostly feature sunrises and sunsets!

What a lovely afternoon! I knew as soon as I saw her smile when she arrived, that I would like her. But then I knew that anyway from following her journal over the last 500+ blips. Isn't that the unique aspect of blipping, that like a jigsaw puzzle, we put the pieces together blip by blip, until people who are strangers are no longer really strangers at all?

I was also looking forward to meeting Bruce and Cara. I know so much about their characters and daily adventures from Jenny's journal, and they were exactly as expected. Bruce and Gus got on in a mutually respecting sort of way, the occasional growl from Bruce to ensure that Gus didn't take too much interest in Cara. The most charming thing about Bruce and Cara is their friendship, with Bruce acting like the protective older brother. I have an image in my mind that I failed to capture with the camera, of the two of them trotting along together as they explored the Knott's footpaths.

The light on the Bay was particularly spectacular today, and here is a photo of a buzzard circling with the Bay beyond. I think Jenny was impressed with Arnside and its setting.

Back home for tea and Wifie's cakes, lots of blip chat, and then it was time for Jenny to continue her journey home. A great blipmeet, definitely to be repeated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.