1860

I mentioned this building in a blip last week.

It was once the Post Office but for quite some time this has been relocated inside another shop - first in Budgens (now closed) then in another small shop (now closed) and now inside a costcutter convenience store at the other end of town.

Last week the pub chain wetherspoons gained planning consent.

There has been much discussion in my office about if this is good or bad for the town.

We have a number of pubs in the high street or close to it.
This building is in a very prominent location.
We don't need more empty units.
We don't need more charity shops, tea rooms, hairdressers or nail bars.
It will need a large investment to convert to a useable space.

Another very busy day.
Grabbed this shot very quickly on route for a takeaway sandwich and coffee.
Not the best but I wanted to document it now in case work starts before I get another chance AND I have nothing else to offer today.

No apologies for the colour splash. I find it very difficult to not do this when there is a post box or phone box to be had. This is a double box. If I had more energy there might have been a splash on the red 'stamp' sign to the right.

Maybe next time....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.