The second half of life..

By twigs

Bunny for breakfast

Ooohhh.....it was a cold night last night!  Woke to a chilly 7 degrees which called for the warmth cavalry - heater and ugg boots.  Crazy to think that 2 days ago not 200kms down the road we were baking in 35-odd degrees.

Usual cuppa (another source of heat from the gas cooker) and as I relaxed into my daily grind this wee head popped up in the grass just outside my window.  I'm very aware that many round here, being farmers, will think of bunnies as major pests.  But seriously......how could such a cute face and whiskers be anything but cute?  We may have to agree to differ on that one.

I dragged my heels a bit this morning as there were some serious looking clouds gathering in the general direction I'm heading.  When the sun did try to make some sort of appearance though I headed away, happy in the knowledge that I had lots of time to get to where I'd decided tonight would be spent.  Fortunately, the closer I got to my chosen location (just 130-odd kms away) the sunnier it became.  Yay :)  And a big bonus for me........all the roads I travelled were sealed!  That may sound a little odd to non-kiwis but there are many, many back roads here that are just shingle.  I knew I was going to be travelling on very minor roads and was so pleased to find them all tar sealed.  I even arrived in perfect time to settle in to watch the Prada Cup racing where sadly American Magic were out-manoeuvred, out-sailed and simply out-classed by the very sleek, well-oiled and impressive Luna Rossa.  I would loved to have seen the US boat win a couple of races today to make things more competitive but it simply wasn't to be.  I did feel a bit sorry for them when their gear began to let them down......maybe residual damage from the dunking they took a couple of weeks ago.  That's sport though - wherever there's a winner there has to be a loser.  I'm now very much looking forward to the Ineos UK v Luna Rossa final beginning in two weeks time on 13th February.  Think I'll be supporting Ineos UK in that one ;)

So here I am this evening, fed, watered and enjoying the sound of the Pacific pounding in at Kairakau Beach.  It's a lovely wee spot and I've already decided that this may turn into a multi-night stopover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.