Tabloid News

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #24

The sun came out. Finally, after a week of grey skies, the sun made an appearance in Yorkshire. I know you don't really get your fair share but it's been hard to look at all the fabulous blips from the Lake District and Scotland, seeing those glorious blue skies day after day while we've shivered beneath a blanket of cloud. It put a bit of a spring in my step at lunchtime, being able to walk under a cloudless sky. People were sitting out in the square, reading books and newspapers, eating their sandwiches, and generally topping up on a much needed dose of Vitamin D. It makes photography much easier too. How I love to have a bit of light to play with.

Cycled in and out to the office again, returning over the moor road and still some light to see by as I got home. I do feel very unfit though. After a winter of neglect of my bike I'm unable to get in my small ring and the hills were a real struggle. After years of training I've still got a lot of savings in my fitness deposit account but very little to draw upon right now in the current account. I definitely felt like I went overdrawn today. I know it's there but I've got to give notice of a few weeks training before I can get the funds transferred over. It's going to be tough going in the meantime. Lots of time spent in the red I fear.

Just a note on yesterday's shot. First, I hadn't noticed at all the possibility that the sign was saying "Be Aware". Well spotted. Very glad I didn't rant! And they were lovely blokes. A smile, a thumbs up and all was good. I've found that people invariably like having their picture taken. I've only ever had one problem, in Leeds at Christmas when trying to capture the atmosphere around shopping. A boy saw me take a shot and said something like, "Hey Dad, that f'ing geezer has just taken a f'ing picture of us". I was a little anxious but I explained what I was about, showed them the shot and asked if they wanted me to delete it, to which the father said yes and I did. And that was it. That really is the only negative engagement I've ever had and I've taken many hundreds of shots now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.