Sunny Days and Covid Tests

I was never really one for sun-worship, even when I was young. When I saw lines of tanned bodies frying slowly on a beach it looked a very boring way to spend time.  But when I arrived in Sweden, I discovered another form of sun worship. This took place in winter on cold sunny days. You wrapped up very warmly and sat or stood against a wall, with the sun shining onto your face. No risk of getting burned but a gentle warmth spreading over your face. It feels wonderful.  And this is how we started our day, outside the house on our bench for ten minutes in the sun.
We couldn’t stay longer because we had a time booked in town for our Covid tests. We were feeling no better but no worse either than we had over the weekend but it felt good to be checking. We arrived at the appointed carpark at the appointed time and joined a short queue of cars. After a couple of minutes a young guy with a misted-up visor took our ID cards and returned them together with a testing kit. We parked the car, read and followed the instructions and when we were done turned on the hazard warning lights to tell him we were done. After a while he walked the line of cars with a shopping basket, into which we dropped our sealed plastic bags.  We should get the result in 48 hours.
It still being so sunny it felt wrong to just drive home and vegetate, so we drove to Smitingen beach and walked down to the sea and back, pausing to take pictures, one of which Jan is blipping. Driving back through town we noticed the North Sound was frozen so we parked up in a sort of mini industrial estate and I walked between the building to a piece of wasteland looking over the sea. As you can see the water is a mish-mash of broken ice-floes, mixed in with small ice fragments and all frozen together. Too rough for skiing or skating or walking, even if I knew it was strong enough, which I don’t. There are some extra broken bits a bit offshore where a ship has pushed its way in to the quayside. No ice-breakers needed yet. I took a few pictures and walked the 50 meters back to the car, where Jan was waiting. (Exercise today - walked 900 meters!)
On the left is the deep-water harbour, still filled with wind-turbine bits, on the right the northern part of town, and between them the sea in the form of the North Sound.
Then it was home, where Jan found a little energy for a short online meeting and even did some yoga, but I just vegetated. My evening routine seems to be a little TV and then bed. I’m grateful we are both sleeping well.
PS Thank you for all the best wishes. If I have to get a bug then this one seems to be treating me fairly gently so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.