The second half of life..

By twigs

State Highway 38, Frasertown

Waikaremoana to Gisborne
I went to bed last night, wondering whether today I'd head north along State Highway 38 towards Rotorua or head south back along the same stretch of road to Wairoa then head up the coast to Gisborne, over the hills then around the coast to Rotorua.  To get to roughly the same area heading north would mean a journey of about 150 kms, about 100 of which would be on a gravelly, pot-holed, corrugated road.  Assumed time - roughly 5 hours.  Heading south meant re-tracing my steps (which I wasn't keen on), driving just 20 or so kms on a gravelly, pot-holed, corrugated road, but ultimately covering some 400-plus kms and taking 6-plus hours.  Added to the mix a comment from Phillip (grandad on yesterday's boat trip) that I would be driving the northern 100 or so kms in bush then in pine forest and would see very little except the road.  Heart said conquer the gravel, head said preserve the van.  I woke up this morning still swaying between the two choices. As the morning coffee settled my mind into more rational thinking, gradually sense began to rule my heart.....

So here I am in Gisborne tonight at the NZMCA park........the sound of the bush has been replaced (so far!) by the sounds of happy-hour, boy-racers, planes taking off, a dog constantly yapping and traffic on the main road.  There may be some raindrops falling on the roof later too.  Hope I sleep well tonight - I have the other 200-plus kms to drive tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.