D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Cymru yn/en Occitània

Dydd Gwyl Dewi Sant hapus i bawb! Happy Saint David's Day to everyone!

Last year we made cawl for 45 people, for a supper following a meeting of the Cercle Occitan. This year we're back to our usual St David's Day supper for friends in our kitchen and there'll be just 14 of us. We've stocked up with wine (local rather than Welsh, of course), I've made Welsh cakes (some of them are here) using my great-grandmother's maen (bakestone), I've poached salmon with fennel for the first course, LoJ has peeled and chopped a huge amount of carrots, parsnips, leeks and potatoes to add to lamb to make cawl, so I think everything is going to plan. I've made a bilingual (Welsh-Occitan) menu. And I've made aioli as a touch of the Mediterranean to go with the salmon as I can't imagine a meal without garlic!

For even further-flung celebrations of the day, see my blip three years ago that included images from 50 years ago in Istanbul and 80 years ago in Cairo.

(once again Blip doesn't accept the 'w' with a circonflex in 'Gwyl' - it was there when I typed it and previewed it, but turned to ? when I published)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.