Not every day

By ppatrick

Flowering

My friend, who happened in Preston by accident but seems to have settled here for the time being, says that this her favourite view in the town. Something to do with the contrasting worlds it appears to contain, architecturally, socially, and spiritually.

Appearances can be deceptive. The mural is on the university police house. The building behind with the arched roof is the university library. Next to it is the former St Peter's Church, now the university arts centre. The poor, shabby terrace in front is the back of a row of well-maintained houses all used by the university for various purposes, including a religious centre and guest accommodation.

The bonus in this picture is the flower shop car. I pass it most days but until I saw this picture had never noticed the Preston North End number plate.

The next day I bought my St David's Day daffodils in the same shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.