It's Saturday again

Four weeks into 2013 I noticed that I had posted a sunrise photo four Saturdays in succession. It has since become a personal challenge to try and achieve a sunrise photograph every Saturday morning. This does depend on the weather, as well as on me getting up and out early enough.

I am also keen to have a different perspective which means thinking of different places or compositions. I may well run out of ideas.

Last night we had the Auckland grandboys to stay overnight. That meant staying in the city. Decided to go down to Westhaven, thinking I could look through the masts of the yachts in the marina. In the end I went along the breakwater extension to the motor yacht portion of the marina, and right at the end obtained this unobstructed view, over the Tank Farm (in the Wynyard Quarter) and beyond the lower part of the central city.

I have lightened the shadows a little, and then adjusted the exposure a tiny bit to return the sky and reflections to what came from the camera. I then consulted Mr H as to which of the ten or so pictures (including the two versions of this) he thought was best. He was unequivocal in opting for this one. We both liked the presence of the gulls; not in any of the others.

So here it is.

Others in the Saturday Sunrise series

Postscript: I decided to defer working on a report, and instead have added 22 pre-2013 Saturday sunrises to the series. You may find them pleasurable

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.