Hunting

Slept late this morning. Because of the tide times, I deferred my exercise to late this afternoon, to capitalise on the low tide and evening feeding. Was fortunate to see a number of heron; this was the first one I saw. I got a number of shots of it just after the dart and swallow. I chose this one because of the patterns in the water, the shape of the rock, and the sea weed.

After it flew off, I saw oystercatchers, and then the second heron. I think I have seen that one before, as it had a very obvious limp. It looked healthy, although to my eyes one foot looked quite deformed. It was successful in its hunting also.

About to go and put the potatoes on to cook. We planted a few just before Christmas (far too late) and have harvested enough to enjoy a number of meals. Tonight will be the second last, as there's only one left to be dug.

Post script: The real cook (S) had not just dug the potatoes and prepared them ready for me to do the arduous task of putting the pot on the hob. She had also picked silver beet from the garden she planted, and prepared that ready for cooking in butter and water. And chosen the best of the last cherry tomatoes from the tomato vines which have been finally removed today. My main contribution was grilling the wild boar sausages. I didn't catch the boar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.