An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Red Door..

There have been many superb Blips from around the world, of the great railway stations. from King's Cross to Grand Central, amongst many others.

Move over to..er..Andover.

First train there, this morning and looking back (not sure why? But maybe I just thought there'd be a picture) and without a soul around, loads getting on, for London, me the only arrivee, I just had to get a quick snap.

Now, back home, is when the fun starts. I had three originals for editing, a horizontal one, which I fully edited and worked well as a composition, but had an awful great plastic light on the right, chucking out tons of light. Then, there was this one and the other had far less top 'bit' but loads of passageway leading up.

The last had lots of suspicious and ugly liquid 'stains' running down, which were just too disgusting to contemplate, so it was this one for the final Blip. I wanted a tunnel effect, with the light and the eye rushing toward that bright scarlet door, but this had a very bright, white top, a darker band under that and burn out on the right of the bricked arch. I had to make the passageway a lot more meaty, so selective (zoned) contrast enhancement. Two different stages and strengths of overall vignetting too.

I think the effort was worth it. I wanted to create something from an almost nothing and invisible (to most passengers) subject and to make it mysterious and thought-provoking. Including almost all of the top brick archway of the original makes it offbeat, it might be wrong, or right, or neither. But I have thought it out and what I have settled on.

Lens is Nikkor G 85mm f1.8.

After completing the big editing of the band shots (Mr Saxman) for the organiser, venue and now up on facebook, I did manage to get through a lot of subscribed journals last night. It's been a long day and bed beckons, so I will reply and answer ALL queries on my last two Blips tomorrow. Thanks to all who have left comments - I haven't forgotten you, nor take them for granted.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.