Down by the Sally Gardens ...

It was down by the Sally Gardens, my love and I did meet.
She crossed the Sally Gardens with little snow-white feet.
She bid me take love easy, as the leaves grow on the tree,
But I was young and foolish, and with her did not agree.

In a field down by the river, my love and I did stand
And on my leaning shoulder, she laid her snow-white hand.
She bid me take life easy, as the grass grows on the weirs
But I was young and foolish, and now am full of tears.


A useful day catching up wth chores - a spot of cleaning, a bit of digging, a bit of potting (sweet peas) and a bit of scanning old family photos. Cold and grey, but everything is shooting up incredibly fast. The goat willows are pussying, looking all soft and grey and yellow. They do incredibly well in our boggy land and spring up all over the place. Another name for them is sallys - the Sally Garden being one of the most famous of all Irish songs. Words by WB Yeats and score by Benjamin Britten!

Have a listen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.