Multi-tasking

It's been quite a productive day so far, despite the awful weather ahead of the predicted storm later on.  The day began with my recorder lesson and progress on the grace notes, alternative notes, the change in Key signature and the new tricksy sharps of Solveig's Song.  I may even get a sticker soon!

Straight afterwards, neighbour Lou and I set out for a four mile run around the Estate in the sogginess and blowiness, most exhilarating!

After shower and lunch I have settled down to some wet weather projects.  The postman brought an English grammar book this morning for me to use alongside my Czech learning,  You may be asking, why does a retired English teacher need a grammar book??  My excuse is that I was educated during the creative, free expression years of the sixties and seventies so much of my grammar knowledge is down to that learned at school, especially my O-Level foreign language lessons with the fearsome Pauline Lindley.  I recall with some horror the six week teaching practice I did at a school in Newton Aycliffe where the English teacher required me to teach 'box analysis'.  He had obviously decided that his student could deliver the most boring aspects of the English curriculum, to save him the job.  I was literally one lesson ahead of the youngsters, having to gen up on it the night before.  To make things worse, he sat at the back of the classroom every lesson with his cup of coffee and his newspaper.  When I was googling for a grammar book to help me understand the different cases and the terminology of my Czech notes , it was a toss up between this one and the Oxford English Grammar.  This one won out because it has lots of pictures and coloured fonts, and the blurb said it contained topics even English teachers didn't know, so there you go!

If I tire of the Czech this afternoon, I will return to my jigsaw which you may be able to see under my laptop.  I wonder if you can tell what it is?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.