RogMull

By RogMull

Royal Troon Champions Past..

I took my colleague Colette down to Troon today, where she will be staying while working with the colleges in Ayrshire for the next couple of weeks. Having arrived I thought a quick Blip was in order and close to where she is staying is the Royal Troon Golf Club Clubhouse.

As I wandered over about 4pm in the hope of catching a colourful golfer or two, none was in sight. But, at the side of the clubhouse I noticed this window with the pictures of those who have won the Open Championship at Royal Troon over the years. I was immediately attracted to this because of the photograph of Arnold Palmer, who won there in 1962 by six clear shots from Kel Nagle, and by 13 from the rest of the field. It was the first Open Championship I attended, and still have some of the images in my mind.

This is my salute to champions past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.