Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Long awaited good news.

For so long, everyone eligible for the flu jab was going to be eligible for the covid jab. Mid-February the JCVI changed the goal posts and moved all but the most severe asthmatics off the vaccine list.

After a year of many asthmatics being hugely cautious as we know how risky catching a chest infection can be, for many they can trigger what can be life threatening asthma attacks. A vast proportion of us restricted what we did and were super cautious as we had been told we were vulnerable. As the JCVI only care about covid death rates, the excess asthma deaths at the start of the pandemic don't count for anything, asthma being the only condition currently with a clear link to long covid doesn't count for anything and many asthmatics, myself included were rightly angry and hurt.

My asthma has been very bad this year. I'm on the strongest combined inhaler, was in A&E last year and had 3 week off work and 2 courses of steroids in January alone. This still didn't make me bad enough to be eligible. Which is why this letter was a welcome relief because when it arrived in the morning, I shouldn't have been receiving it.

Turns out I am this afternoon I becam eligible as I'm back on my third dose of oral steroids in less than 3 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.