An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Another Church (Different Angle)

Seems I'm either doing river or church Blips these days!

Not in Salisbury today but this tall church tower and the sky colour just grabbed me, about 1.5 hours ago (long before sunrise).

Only having the 85mm Nikkor f1.8 and no tripod, I had to find something else to help fill the frame. The foreground is a leisure centre, being cleaned/prepared for a new day of activity.

The blue I haven't changed but I did up the reds, a bit, to make it as vibrant as the blue. Some shadow extraction and that's about it.

The angle was originally horizontal, but I have to be different and this accentuates the church tower even more! The way it was, the leisure centre had prominence.

I stopped down the lens as much as I dared, bearing in mind the shutter speed needed, iso levels and depth of field required. Only the distant church is actually in focus, this was important as the eye leads there and is the focal point. Unless I'd stopped down to f8, I was never going to get the all the other building sharp and the eye accepts it as it is anyhow.

Likewise with yesterday's. Many might think that a wideangle has lots of depth of field and that you can just focus on infinity and that's it. But at f1.4, the dof is limited and focussing on infinity would give a clear moon but progressively softer church, as it got nearer. So, I focussed on the middle section of the church, not infinity.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.