A time for everything

By turnx3

French chocolate almond cake

Sunday
This is the leftovers from the dessert I made for the Chili/Chocolate cook-off we had at church yesterday evening. Unfortunately I never thought to take a picture of the whole cake until we were on our way to church and I didn't have a camera with me. It turns out Roger had put the little camera in his pocket, but he never told me! It was a fun evening, but it didn't do much for my waistline! There were 8 different chilis and 11 different chocolate desserts, which made judging the desserts rather difficult and unfair, as even if you only had a tiny sampling, there was no way you could try all 11. My cake was supposed to be Chocolate hazelnut, but to my great frustration I couldn't get hazelnuts anywhere yesterday morning - I tried two Kroger supermarkets and even went to Jungle Jims International food store - a huge store that sells just about everything, but whilst they had whole hazelnuts, I couldn't find shelled hazelnuts, and I didnt have time to mess around shelling them. The recipe says you can use almonds, so that is what I did, but I prefer it with the hazelnuts - its a more distinctive flavor. The recipe's here, if you're interested!

One year ago: Kite surfer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.