A time for everything

By turnx3

Great read!

Tuesday
I thoroughly recommend the book I'm reading at the moment - The Last Runaway, by Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring. I forget how it first came on my radar, but I had put a hold on it at the library weeks ago, and had totally forgotten about it until late last week when I got a call to say it was in. It is based in northern Ohio, in the Oberlin area, in the 1850s. A young Quaker woman comes over from England and is drawn into the clandestine activities of the Underground Railroad, a network helping runaway slaves escape to freedom, despite opposition from the new family she has married into. Oberlin became a major focus of the abolitionist movement in the United States and an active terminus on the underground railroad, and thousands passed through it on their way to freedom in Canada.

One year ago: Art in Bloom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.