International School Meals Day

Today was the first ever International School Meals Day. All the Scottish Education Ministerial team visited schools in their constituencies and I dropped in at Tighnabruaich Primary where the children had made bread, as part of their Crofting Connections project , whilst the inspirational kitchen staff had laid on a range of exciting things including Jamaican Beef Patties.

I had a slice of bread and a pattie and both were delicious. The young people's own recipes, which they shared with me, were also mouth watering - or will be once they are made!

Thanks to the whole school for letting me visit and especially to Lesley Brady in the kitchen and Mrs Hamilton, the Head Teacher, who also showed me round.

I also marked the day by announcing support for a young graduate to work with the charity Mary's Meals in Malawi, something I had discussed when in Malawi last year and which will create a new opportunity for a young person from Scotland to get involved in a tremendously important area of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.