a town called E.

By Eej

Not-a-HUB-shot


I thought about it, but it's not the lightest of bikes plus it was looking gnarly from riding through mud and snow. So I went with a One-Handed-Triumphant-IamwomanhearmeROAR!-Wave shot. I didn't really deserve to be so triumphant at that point but I took out an advance on later when I did but was so close to collapsing that I couldn't.
I have never full appreciated the exuberant hilliness of the Paw Paw area, nor the lingering winter.

Random thoughts to illustrate:
Downhill: "Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!"
Uphill:"Oh, FFS, not another one."
Upon finding an ice covered road (a shortcut too): "Like hell I will."
Headwind:"Oh, you've got to be kidding me!"
Finding out halfway that the dirt road at the end had turned into a den of potholes and mud:*expletive deleted*

Despite all that, I felt really good. I felt good I did something I thought could be hard. Or maybe even scary.
It's amazing what is possible if you just kick your doubt, your fear, your feelings of inadequacy to the curb - even if it is just for the duration of a bike ride to the middle of nowhere and back :)


Happy International Women's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.