Picturebook memories

Always so much more,
Than picturebook memories.
Your voice is in me.


As it's mother's day I wanted to post some pictures of my Mum as I remember her.

I have photo's of her in her youth, during the war years and the early years with my Dad. They are wonderful photo's and she looks so beautiful, but I didn't know her then.

I have photo's of her in more recent years as Alzheimer's gradually tightened it's awful grip, but I can't bear the lost look in her eyes.

These photo's are from happy times with her doing the things she loved: playing with the grandchildren (her with Tash at about 3 years), relaxing on the beach with Dad, and walking and enjoying the countryside. I don't have one of her singing which was her other great joy, but I can still hear her voice in my head. She was always singing around the house and I grew up absorbing those tunes by osmosis, as well as a love of music.

Miss you Mum x

Yesterdays back blip: The philosophy of dogs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.