Gone (Pt. 2)

Today I drove north, and then west, and then north again, and then west again. 

It took about 3 hours. I have ended up where the road comes to an end, in Glenelg. For those unfamiliar with such things, it is in Lochalsh. Across the water from Skye, if you need another clue. 

If all else fails, I will link to the location. Please do not tell others about it. It is quiet, and that is nice. I may want to come back. 

Along the way, I saw some really magnificent scenery (after the rain stopped).  

I made a slight detour to have a coffee at Eilean Donan Castle, which is close to Glenelg. It was quiet too. I really enjoyed my americano outside with such a fabulous backdrop. 

A theme is developing. After my long drive, the first thing I did after I reached my lodgings was to have a pint on the terrace, with Skye’s Sleat Peninsula and the Sound of Sleat as my backdrop. The birds singing was the only noise. What a way to relax.

Writing this at about 5pm, the only sounds are the birds, plus the barman and waiter chewing the fat.

I will be posting this as a BackBlip - a phone signal is a 15 minute drive away, and I’m not sure about wifi. 

The Blip is the view south as sunset approached. The mainland is on the left and Skye is on the right. Eigg is the island in the distance with the flat “top” and you can see the peaks of Rùm  in the distance on the right. 

One Extra is Eilean Donan Castle. I know this is not Instagram, and I promise not to become a Grammer, but I had to post a photo of it. Another is the neighbours. The 3rd Extra is my life saving pint after that long drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.