Gone (Pt. 3)

Thursday was an extraordinary day. 

It started about 05:20 with an amazing view from my bedroom window. 

After breakfast I set off on the 5 minute drive to catch the 10:00 ferry from Glenelg to Kylerhea (on Skye). It is an 8 minute experience of a lifetime on the last turntable ferry in Scotland the world. 

The vehicle deck of the ferry turns so that you can drive on board. Then it turns again so that you can drive off in the same direction as you drove on. (If you are not good "on the water" you will not enjoy this.)

My destination was not Skye. It was Raasay, a much smaller island which is 25 minutes from Skye on another (bigger, but not much) ferry. This time I left the car on Skye, intending to hike around Raasay for a couple of hours.     

My wanderings on Raasay were fantastic. Warm spring sunshine. Total peace and quiet (cars are allowed on the island but a population of 160 does not create much traffic). 

How can we put something like that in a bottle and take it home? 

The Blip is the wee Calmac ferry chugging back to Skye after dropping me (and a few others) on Raasay. That is Skye in the background. 

Extras - my dawn view; the Glenelg Ferry; the road from Kylerhea to the rest of Skye; the lawncare service at my lodgings. 

[Ed. note:- Still backblipping. It turned out the Inn does have wifi, but after enduring a breakfast enlivened by other guests loudly reading from their phones about how their share portfolio was doing, I decided a couple of days offline might be positive for me.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.