JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 148: Queen Anne's Lace

I've always preferred my mother's name for what is generally and more prosaically known as cow parsley. It's fitting, because my mother was a lace maker; and I've always loved the delicate laciness of this commonest of wild flowers. 

It was beautiful in the orchard this evening, around seven, with low sun illuminating the apple blossom, with its many rosy buds, a carpet of speedwell, and many beautifully backlit dandelion clocks. P has not done any mowing for some while, as it's been so wet and he's been busy with the vegetable beds, so it is quickly reverting to being a wildflower meadow, full of buttercups, speedwell, ground ivy and various grasses whose names I don't know, as well as the taller banks of Queen Anne's Lace, Jack-by-the-hedge and self-seeded columbines. I was very glad of its peace and beauty after a demanding and rather trying day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.