Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sparkles

There is a long story to this shot. It is likely to be boring so feel free to stop reading now.

Anyhoo, last Friday when I was at Redhead Beach I ran into a photographer I often see around the traps. I've told him about blip - I can do no more. We got chatting and I mentioned I would like to try the steel wool spark thing. Lo and behold he had some in his car and sent his son to go and get it. Well we spent some time doing the steel wool spark thingy but I wasn't very happy with the setting at Redhead beach. So the thinking I had was to set it somewhere where I will get some nice reflections and I was looking for a dawn shot. That was when I thought of the Bogie Hole.

Well before trying it there I thought I would have a play at Newcastle beach. You know, to make sure I had the technique right. I had taken the dogs for a walk and waited until dark and then drove to the beach. Went to get the camera out of the car. No camera bag. I had taken it out in the morning and had forgotten. When I got home, I thought I would try it on the lawn. Well I nearly set fire to my hair, there were sparks going everyone, nasty burning smells and some of the mulch on the garden caught alight. That's it, not to be done at home, only for the beach or wide open spaces where there was nothing that would catch alight.

Next day, off to the Bogie Hole. Well you remember what happened there. A over T and no way was I going anywhere near the edge of the pool with those waves coming in. So where to find some nice still water for the next attempt. How about the other side of Merewether baths. So that's where I went the next morning but I was a little late getting there and really only had one go before the light was too bright. Not what I envisioned but at least I was getting the hang of swinging the steel wool without setting myself on fire. Never mind, I thought I would get there earlier the next day and have a better go. Well I did get there earlier, this was yesterday. I got set up and the lighter didn't work. I mean really, it was a brand new lighter. So moving on to today, I got there at the right time, had a different lighter, checked before leaving home it was working, put in a spare lighter, have camera went to the position I had been using the last two days but the tide was lower and there was no pool of water. Argggh. A little walking further along the coast found this spot which I thought may be OK. I went to light steel wool, lighter on the blink. What the??? Tried back up, no flame. What??? Just managed to get enough of a flame to do 4 shots. Looking at this now, I don't like the rock in the foreground blocking the sparks and perhaps there was too much wool because the sparks seem a little irregular but I am not going to try again for this shot tomorrow and this will have to do. Today sharing the sparkle experience with me were six dolphins, 3 silver gulls and one sooty oystercatcher.

Having sworn off sparks again, I saw a perfect spot for an evening shot if there is not much wind. I am bringing Bear Grylls so that I can be assured that I will be able to light the wool in any condition. Congratulations if you have got this far. Have some stars and lots of sparks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.