[blowfish]

By blowfish

bleu

lunch and coffee in the blue skied sun at a cafe (where this was taken) on a major corner of Rue de Turbigo--excellent people watching. then finally got to walk through an outdoor market with fresh fish, produce, and more. then le coq sportif for casual shoes. then vintage store shopping in Les Halles with insanely low prices that would make an Austin hipster shit--I found a great corduroy sport coat for work, a scarf, and Leah got this beautiful vintage coat for 15 Euros. More walking. Leah found some wingtip shoes at a Minelli store that was closing down. Fromage and dessert and biere and vin at another cafe where the waiter looked exactly like my late friend Ryan, which in turn made me question the concepts of rebirth and reincarnation. A final pastiserrie stop now back home to make dinner and share another glass of wine before an early start tomorrow to go see the grave of Beckett (et al).

Edit: this Blip got deleted earlier, so my first write-up mentioned how if I could offer any advice to a first time winter/spring traveler here (regardless of the fact that I've only been here four days), it would be to bring nice clothes. Parisians have incredible style that makes you feel perpetually dumpy and self-conscious. And I think it's important to try and fit in and to be respectful of their culture, and it seems they will be respectful of you in return, which has certainly been the case here so far. These people are not rude, they are concerned about how one presents themselves. Leah and I brought a few nice things and some nice pants and such, but I wish I'd brought more than one tie and sweater combo. It feels good to look nice in cold weather dress clothes and I have plenty of this kind of stuff that I wear for work. Well, next time I will bring it all. Note: I am not trying to lecture you all, so many of you have been here. I suppose this post-script is more for me, for my memories of my reflections on this beautiful, classy, and timeless place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.