Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Autumn

Identification - Satyrinae Melanitis sp.

Massive response to yesterday's blue carpenter bee as you all shared my excitement to finally nailing this elusive creature. Thank you all so much for all the hearts and stars. Filled with enthusiasm, I could not wait to get back out there today.

One of the first creatures that I see on my daily safaris are the dark, husky hues of these ground hogging butterflies. Camouflaged to hide in the ground litter which is constantly replenished all the year round. Unlike the cooler climates around the world, it is summer here all the year round, no spring or autumn. Leaves bud, grow and die all year regardless of season.

The butterfly is only possible to spot when it is disturbed into flight. You have to watch closely as it never flies far, but once it lands it vanishes again. Take your eye off it and it is gone.

Within the first 10m of my safari today, I picked up images of three different species of this family of butterfly, a great start to the day. In all, I collected seven different butterfly images in just over an hour. Those of you who photograph butterflies regularly will understand the rarity of such an event, but it just gives you some idea of the population and diversity of butterflies available to me, although some days it doesn't seem that way.

In the hour long safari, I did pick up plenty of other creatures too, ending up with 15 keepers, but the subtle autumn hues of this butterfly were an easy winner.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.