Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Finally!

Identification - Xylocopa caerulea, blue carpenter bee.

Those of you who follow my journal will know that I have been chasing this bee since last July when I first spotted it. After chasing this bee up and down my safari path over the last nine months, I have never managed to capture an image any closer than 20 feet before today.

I spotted the elusive creature circling and examining the trunk of a tree. I moved up very slowly, selected ISO 400 to do some natural light shots first, just in case the flash spooked her. The bee seemed very intent on its search and didn't seemed too bothered by my presence.

In constant motion, never stopping for more than a second, I knew the failure rate was going to be high, so it was going to be a numbers game. I managed 49 images before she moved on, from which I managed three keepers. Pity the flight shots did not work, but I wanted to keep the ISO low for a quality image, I can get the in-flight shot next time.

Not sure exactly what was going on, possibly searching for a nest site. Called carpenter bees because they drill holes in wood. Often considered a pest, as they cut holes to wooden frames. I did notice a couple of freshly cut round holes in the trunk, but apart from briefly examining one of these, they were ignored. From web images, these holes were very likely carpenter bee holes, so I will be keeping an eye on this tree from now on.

On the odd occasion when the bee landed, it curled its abdomen around to contact the trunk. Wish I knew what was going on.

The males have larger eyes and so I deduced that this specimen was a female, which would fit in with the nest site theory, but I cannot be certain of this sexing. The males are aggressive and will get in your face to defend their territory. Nothing to fear though as males do not possess a stinger. The females are capable of stinging but they are non-aggressive, another argument for this specimen being a female.

At close to an inch in length, easily one of the most impressive bugs that I have come across. A privilege to get this close, but I will do better next time.

I put all three images up on Noah.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.