100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 69

Now I am getting to grips with iColorama, one of my new apps, I am having great fun making abstracts from my shots.  I’m sure you would never guess what this is, so I will “spill the beans” or perhaps I should say "squeeze the toothpaste"!  

After I had had my shower this morning, I noticed how colourful the new toothpaste tubes were, so thought I could make them into a good abstract.  I then found lots of different toothbrushes and put them all on our bedroom window and started clicking.

I sat on the bed in my pink robe and played around with my iColorama app and thought this was quite pleasing and Mr. HCB liked it too.  I even remembered to write down some of the stages, so that I would remember them, because there is much to learn within the app.  Both Mr. HCB and I thought it looked like molten metal in places and had quite a glow - and as I have said before, seeing this in a gallery, people might just pay hundreds of pounds for it as an abstract to go on their wall..  

In fact, I called in to see my sister after I had popped over to the Post Office, and happened to notice she had an abstract painting on her wall.  I told her I could make her a painting just like it, or even better, and showed her one or two of my abstracts, which she liked - so might be an idea for her birthday present in November!

This is Number 69 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge to raise awareness of the wonderful work done by the Mamie Martin Fund, which gives girls in North Malawi the opportunity to obtain a good secondary school education, following which, they often go on to university to train to be teachers, nurses and administration workers.  Many of them go back into their own communities to do this and are good role models for younger girls.

BANDAWE GIRLS’ SECONDARY SCHOOL - is located near Lake Malawi and Nkhata Bay.  Girls have been funded at this school since it was founded and it has special memories for the Fund as Jack and Mamie Martin lived and worked in Bandawe for many years and Mamie is buried a short distance from the school.  It is owned and run by the Synod of Livingstonia of the CCAP and is grant-aided by the Malawian Government.


This school is owned and run by the Church of Central Africa Presbyterian (CCAP) and in 2021 the Fund supports 44 girls at the school, which includes the girls’ registration at the new local health clinic.

If it were not for the Mamie Martin Fund, many of these girls would not be able to attend school, so they are all very grateful for the help they receive, which enables them to have a good education and encourages many of them to work extremely hard and then go on to further education. 

“If you educate a man, 
     you educate an individual, 
          but if you educate a woman, 
               you educate a nation.”
African Proverb

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.