Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

The Lions

They look as if they are enjoying the sunshine, on their plinths overlooking the North Sea. It looks more like Tuscany today  than Berwick upon Tweed.

I was there to collect TM from the station. He left grey Surrey this morning and arrived at lunchtime, just as the sun was emerging. We headed for Limoncello, appropriately Italian,  down by the river, and had a nice lunch in their courtyard. 

Afterwards we clambered up the steps onto the ramparts, and it was most pleasant to look out over the estuary.  

LS Lowry, the artist who painted stick men in the mill towns of Lancashire, used to holiday in Berwick. He even thought about buying this house, known as the Lions. I think it is a holiday let now. The old garden is now allotments, and they must be the best allotments in the country, with their terracing, and their views out towards Holy Island, Bamburgh and the Farnes. They are clearly very well cared for by the lucky tenants.

Lowry used to stay at the. hotel nearest the station, and on dull days, he'd sketch the barmaid, and give the sketches to her ....... and she'd chuck them in the  bin.  I wonder what they'd fetch these now ....

Yesterday, I had a strange experience during a FaceTime with my little grandson. Suddenly, I lost focus in the centre of my left eye and saw a whirling blur, with a saw-toothed edge. It lasted about ten minutes, during which I felt nauseous, and a headache began. (I was quite scared, as I have glaucoma, not well monitored during the current NHS problems). However,, it resolved and I consulted Dr Google. The first thing that appeared to fit the  symptoms was something called 'scintillating scotoma' - what a wonderful name. But it seems more like 'retinal migraine'.  Neither is terribly alarming, and I was happy to drive this morning. But I'll be making an appointment to have it all checked out ASAP.

I only mention it because the last extra reminds me of what it was like. I wonder if there is a name for this phenomenon?

Yet again, thanks for the visits, stars and hearts. You are lovely people, and I'm sorry for my backsliding with Blip. It's a new month tomorrow, and I hope to do better....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.