Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bluets making bluets

I was finally able to get out on the water this morning and it was sheer bliss!  I did some paddling and then I did some bobbing about in the waterlilies.  All the while I could hear the family of bald eagles that nests on the lake calling to each other as they floated high, high above me.  Closer to shore I was serenaded by the ethereal song of a Veery.  And all around me were damsels and dragons.  Is it any wonder I stayed out for 2 hours?

The kayak was rocking a bit so this isn't as sharp as I might like, but still ends up being my favorite shot of the day.  I am trying to pin down the identification of these odes - either Slender or Turquoise Bluets.  I'm leaning towards Slender.  

Now, in case you aren't quite certain what's going on here...the male (darker blue, above) has hold of the female's neck using his cerci which are anal appendages (stop giggling).  The female has curved her abdomen around so that her lady parts and his boy parts connect allowing him to inject sperm (yes, that is my highly scientific explanation!)  He will then hold onto her while she deposits her fertilized eggs into the water on vegetation  featured in this blip.  Insect procreation is always interesting, but none more so than the dragons and damsels.

Back at home, I had some lunch and tea then a little rest.  No ease up yet on the fatigue, but I know I just have to give it time.  My body is working very hard to repair all the radiation damage.  Skin on my chest is continuing to improve and looks almost normal now, other than being somewhat darker than the rest of my body.  Yay.

I'm thinking something dark with nuts today.  And I just ordered more dark chocolate tahini (with eternal thanks to wrperry for the recommendation).  

Today is our Independence Day which is usually occasion for fireworks displays.  I'll probably tune in to watch the NYC display tonight - it's always impressive and I believe this year they are synchronizing 7 barges for the show.  

Be safe out there people and make sure you don't let your chocolate melt!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.