Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Oban

My birthday today so the day started with lots of cards and presents to open. We had a lazy breakfast and then I set off for Oban right on schedule at 10.30am. I got as far as Hopetoun, by Queensferry when I realised that my car hands free wasn't picking up my phone. Realising that being without my phone for a week would not be a good idea, I turned around and went back home to pick it up. We couldn't find it anywhere in the house, so started to hunt for it in the car and sure enough, there it was, with Bluetooth switched off. I set off again, at 11.10. It didn't matter, the schedule was my own and I was happy to have found my phone.
I had a smooth drive up to Oban turning right just before I got there to go over the Connel Bridge to meet up with Katy and family at Benderloch. They have been up here since last weekend and had cycled there from their holiday house. It was lovely to all meet up and Isobel was very keen that I visit their house. As they had travelled on their bikes I decided to go into Oban to give them time to cycle back. I met up with a local blipper there as planned then drove back out to Connel. All went as planned. I was easy to spot I think standing under the red dome on North Pier.
After meeting up with the family again I went back to Oban filled up with petrol then drove to the B&B arriving just 5 minutes before Gill who'd driven up from Cumbria.
We went out to the Italian Restaurant on the North Pier where I had a delicious pizza followed by a fruit meringue, yummy.
On the way back to the B&B we walked past the ferry port and on up the hill. The extra is of the seafood shed, thought you might like to see the 'freshly caught' prices.
My main blip is a panorama of the bay with the sun going down behind Kerrera.
Keep safe and well everybody, I've just got one more lateral flow test to take tomorrow, as requested before travelling to an island, then I'll be on Iona for the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.