LTLT

By LaurieT

Take-out box memo

This morning I met with two colleagues for our monthly breakfast and catching up. We had a wonderful conversation about many things, during which I learned that one of these wonderful women has begun a daily photo practice - so of course I told her about Blipfoto. As we spoke I kept thinking of links I wanted to share, so I made a list on my take-out box.

As I walked home I thought about all the questions I have about photography, and the explosion of images in our lives. The photos of my mother as a child could be counted on her fingers. I suffered through the innumerable snapshots my father posed us for, and developed a fairly negative attitude towards having my picture taken, and of people taking pictures generally. Thinking about how to use the photos we take of the children here in a way that benefits them raises another set of questions for me. How does this constant picture taking and viewing change our sense of self, and our understanding of ourselves as subjects or objects?

Being on Blipfoto highlights these questions for me. What is my intention here? I spend hours looking at other people's photos, but haven't made the time to post regularly myself, or to comment much. I'm remembering how much I've enjoyed viewing photography in museums and galleries over the years, and have been inspired to do that more. I feel very lucky to have Terri, Kendall, and the inspiring blip community to talk to about all these ideas!

It's clear that blip is a worthy practice for me to follow, because, like all good practices, it leaves me with more questions than answers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.