Pileated Woodpeckers

Busy day. After breakfast Arvin and I decided to take advantage of the brisk sunny day and take a walk. We walked along the alley where our house is located, up the path to the entrance to Big Rock Park. We meandered up and visited Big Rock Garden before heading back home. We chose a different path through the woods on our way back. We kept hearing a loud call. Two of them actually from high up the trees. Then I saw a Pileated Woodpecker and realized that was the source of the call. I took a bunch of photos with my telephoto lens that I had happened to bring along just in case. Then I realized there were two of them. The one with the red splash of color on his face is the male. The one with black on her face, the female. This is the first time I've been able to photograph one of these beautiful birds. Couldn't decide which to post so here are both of them. Press "L" for more details.

In the afternoon we went to our friend Pat's house to celebrate her 80th birthday. We had a great time. Pat handed me her Sony RX100, just like my small camera, and asked me to take photos for her so I did. I enjoyed walking around and asking folks to let me take their photos as the "official" photographer. Saw lots of great friends there too. It was a lovely way to spend an afternoon and evening.

Now I'm off to bed. I'll try to get some commenting in before turning off the light and going to sleep. I have found that I like commenting with the iPad Blip app more than I do on my computer. So that is what I've been using for comments. I snuggle into my cozy bed and then sit and tap away on my iPad making comments. Fun and easier than here at my computer.

Have a good evening all (or tomorrow morning if you are far off to the east.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.