Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Giant of Team Swallowtail

The breaking news at the NJ Olympic Village this morning was the arrival of the largest member of Team Swallowtail!  He swooped in quietly and took several flights around the Village, getting the lay of the land.  Then he proceeded tp visit several of the most popular nectar arenas to practice his Speed Pollinating and Nectar Snogging.  Although no crowds are on hand (here as in Japan, crowds are prohibited) this intrepid reporter did let out a few gasps of delight.  Seldom do you see a member of any of Team Swallowtail looking so dapper!  In an adjacent arena, Team Bumble was clustered in an emergency meeting, no doubt trying to make a plan in the face of this AOG superstar.  (See Extra)

Giant Swallowtails (Papilio cresphontes) are N. America's largest butterfly with wingspans up to nearly six inches.  I've randomly assigned a gender as there really isn't any good way to sex this species in the field.


After an enjoyable morning at AOG Village, I reluctantly loaded myself into the car and went to the dentist for cleaning and x-rays. I'm a huge dentist-phobe and there was a new hygienist doing the cleaning...well, in summary let's just say that it was not a pleasant 45 minutes in the chair.  I was so tensed up by the time I left that I think my shoulders were up around my ears.  By the time I got home, I was exhausted and ended up taking a very long nap.  Fortunately, no cavities so no reason to go back for another six months.  


I definitely feel like I am on the road to "normal" with the radiation fatigue, but some days are still better than others.  Fortunately, I am in a position where I can lay down and rest if I need it.  I'm lucky.  


A little dark chocolate doesn't hurt either.  Today was dark with chili and dried cherries - heavenly!!!


Remember to tag your pre-AOG coverage #aog21pre (and click that tag to see all the wonderful pre-game reports!  The official Opening Ceremonies are on 23 July - only a few more days!


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.