Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Meet the Analogue Photographer

This is Simon, a twenty something who loves analogue photography especially medium format. He is part of the group of 6 that will become the 'darkroom collective' all wanting to use and print film. The camera he is holding is Adam's, another 20 something who has loads of film cameras and our 'go to' person when we want to discuss or need film. It makes me happy that analogue is still embraced by the younger generations.

What a start to the week. Meeting at 5.30pm straight off the train from work. First I met Ivan, very creative and had the sweetest of compact bellow camera. Then met Anne the Director of the Impressions Gallery in Bradford and full of knowledge. Impressions Gallery has been the home of showcasing photographic work for the past 40 years and the reason I visit Bradford. Then arrived the lovely Jean, Simon and Adam who I know and love already.

Jean was telling me she has been handed the custodianship of her grans photographs, who passed away last year, spanning over 100 years which she will catalogue and share with family. The family is large being catholic and adopting children too, and is looking to create an exhibition with the stories behind the people in the photos. I said the exhibition may take 20 years to realise as once you open 'pandoras box' you could be there 20 years later saying "right, now for the exhibition" after being on a journey of discovery. Hopefully it will be sooner than that :)

So I'm compiling my blip after 10pm as I sit on the train home as I feel elated by the creative influences of like mind minded people.

Here is to the collective darkroom society or whatever we end up as!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.