Reform

I don't know quite why there is a picture of Heinrich Bullinger, the Swiss reform theologian, on the wall of the Lord Provost Elder Room in Old College, in and amongst the worthies of Scotland and the University. Certainly wiki reveals that he met and talked to John Knox, who brought the Reformation to Scotland and is substantially responsible for much of how Scotland is today, when the latter was in Geneva, but I'm afraid that my superficial research does not explain the presence of this picture of unknown provenance in the University collection.

I took the picture to record the fact that I spent plenty of time in the posh bits of the University today at various meetings and events. If I were better at photographing paintings (and in particular if the light in the rooms were more sympathetic for these purposes), I could make quite a series.

The day ended pleasantly with a lecture about comparative constitutional law, followed by a dinner in Spoon. On the other hand, it being a school night, I should probably have had one fewer glasses of red wine.

Bloody hell. Look what the weather was like last year. I want to cry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.