Play, Pie, Pint and a Pensioner...

Speaking of the charmer, on a slightly related subject, I had the ideal opportunity to put into practice a theory I've had since starting my cycling endeavour. I learned somewhere that it is possible to propel a sail boat when the wind isn't behind you by angling the sail in such a way that the combination of wind direction, sail angle and cutting through water propels forward motion.

With the wind not very unhelpfully blowing from the east right up the forth estuary, it wasn't giving me the push I'd have liked to get me home whilst chasing MrsTFP on four wheeled automation. I tried angling my body slightly north westerly to utilise the wind direction.

It possibly didn't offer that much help but it did feel slightly easier when I did it as opposed to the wind hitting me squarely perpendicular.

Today I popped across to the Traverse with EcoDad and met up with the Charming Pensioner for the last in the current run of Play, Pie and a Pint. The Tenuous link was that Pensioner is known to spend time afloat and I daresay has a much better grasp of sail boat dynamics than myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.