Sand patterns and rainbows

I flew back from Wellington to Nelson this morning and took lots of photos of the land from the plane. I got quite a few that I'm pretty happy with - which is saying something because I'm pretty judgemental of the photos I take. Nice ones of Wellington, the Sounds and Nelson from the air. But when it came to choosing a blip I kept coming back to this one.

I took the polarising filter off to take the scenery photos through the perspex window (thanks to a tip from Kiwidino) then when I'd finished I put it back on. As we came lower I got caught by the sand patterns on the estuary and couldn't resist pointing the camera at them too. Actually forgot that I'd put the filter back on but I really liked the way it has played with the colour and given the patterns an even more abstract feel.

Long may mistakes reign. Feel the sand on your face.

On other notes altogether:

1. Neil Young concert in Wellington last night was more than worth the effort and cost. Wow! I stood in an audience and listened to Neil Young (and Crazy Horse) singing and playing for 2 hours. What an experience!

2. Good luck to Kiwilizzie who, instead of coming home on the plane with me this morning, headed off in a different direction for a job interview.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.