An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happiness is....

Today is the very first United Nations International Day of Happiness. Not sure how I feel about that TBH other than worrying it might make people who already feel like shit, feel more like shit.

But, as I saw the thread in the Blip ForumI thought I'd share my thoughts. So here goes.

For me, personal happiness is...

Two minutes of uninterrupted peace, during which I can totally focus on all that I have to be thankful for.

You don't need to have a cuppa and some stem ginger shortbread at the same time, gin and tonic and some crisps work equally well but I find it helps focus the mind and gives me a starter for 10 of things I am thankful for.

I learned after the trauma of Alan's birth and the emotions experienced in the immediate aftermath, that happiness is not a permanent state of mind. Nor can it be found. The harder you look, the more elusive it becomes. And it's not something you have a right to, as it's not in anyone else's power to give it or deny you.

Instead it is something that already exists within and it's up to you to let it out.

For me that means being truly thankful for the simplest of things; a good book, a smile from my boy, my cosy bed on a winters morning, laughing to the point of breathlessness at something stupid that no one else finds funny, taking a photo, sharing it on blip, to use some of today's examples. Lots of little moments of pleasure that add up to a whole bunch of happy. :-))

But it's consciously being thankful for those moments that unlocks the feelings of happiness and well being.

And being thankful to whom / what? Well that's up to you :-)

Disclaimer - being happy does not exempt you from moments of utter despair, almighty anger, intense sorrow or crushing disappointment as without these, how could we hope to recognise happiness when we feel it?

Ooo......another cuppa and piece of stem ginger shortbread? Don't mind if I do. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.