Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Disco 2?

DIS-GO-LARGER (terrible pun, sorry!)

Anyone remember Disco 2? The BBCs first venture into rock music on TV - album tracks with some great graphic visuals (great for their time anyway). It was the predecessor to the inimitable Old Grey Whistle Test, which finally gave us live footage of bands. Disco 2 was a staple of my musical diet at the time (the Whistle Test of course became that also for quite a few years when it arrived).

Children and laptops often don't mix well, especially when some of those children are in care and may have behavioural issues. The last government introduced a scheme to provide those children with a loan laptop to use at home. Many of those kiddies are great and treat the machines with respect - others, sadly, don't. At work we frequently have laptops with smashed screens arrive in the workshop for repair. I sometimes love to play around with them before replacing the screen panel - squeezing the screens in the cracked areas can produce some highly entertaining visual effects! I've often thought that these remind me somewhat of the graphics used on Disco 2. So today I took one of the aforementioned laptops, and by placing a framed magnifying glass in front achieved a shot that reminds me of Disco 2 viewed on the old fashioned TVs of my youth. My blip for today ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.