The second half of life..

By twigs

Duck detail

There's only so long you can put off the inevitable and when the fridge is as bare as mine was, the inevitable needed to happen today.  I girded myself then headed to the supermarket........

Surprisingly, there was no queue at all to enter - big tick!  Face mask on - tick.  Hands sanitised - tick.  Tracer app scanned - tick.  The numbers weren't big so there was plenty of space to pass safely along the aisles.  Wearing the mask whilst also wearing glasses was a pain (as I'm sure millions of others around the world already know) - the only slightly grumpy response came from the checkout lady when I put one of my bags on the checkout surface :(  Packing has to happen in the trolley unless you've bought a new bag.  I don't hold the mild grump against the lady - they must see and have to deal with all sorts of crap on top of the covid crap - I'm just pleased they're able to serve me at all.

Milk stop next - a small queue there (if 2 people constitutes a queue!) then a stop at the duck pond.  Sadly, still no Muscovy ducklings to be seen.  I do hope the pukekos haven't gobbled them up :(

Instead of duckings I've opted for detail shot of one of the Muscovy's feathers - they really are quite varied in their appearance though most are varying degrees of black and white with beautiful greeny/blue backs.  This one was the only grey one however.  See extra for a close up of their unusual heads. 

Hump day tomorrow - I really should make more effort to do the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.