Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 5

We woke up this morning to gently falling snow. It's the first time we've ever had snow on our canal holiday!

I also realised it's the first time I've thought about exposure times for falling snow. I was busy trying to get a long exposure shot to blur the snow but that made it disappear. I quite liked the very fast shots with dots of snow, but that didn't make it snowy enough for how the day felt.

Chippy, said I should take a series of increasing shutter speeds. Then he wanted a go too. Having the same camera it's easy for him to use mine instead of his own!

I chose this one because I wanted to get a sense of there being a dense curtain of snow. The snow stopped very soon after this shot.

We'd reached the end of the arm of the Caldon canal so we are now on our way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.