FLOWER FRIDAY AND OTHER THINGS

You will be pleased to know that I was dressed when I went for a wander around the garden first thing this morning!  There are still lots of flowers blooming, although I have to say the garden could do with some rain - it has been grey and dull of late, but a drop of rain during the night wouldn’t go amiss.

I rather liked this beautiful nasturtium, and the back is prettier than the front, I think, so here is my offering for Flower Friday.

Then I have made a collage of lots of the other flowers, which I have put in as an extra, but there are still many others and the bee activity has been wonderful to see and hear.  Mr. HCB is very pleased with both his carnations and chrysanthemums, both of which his Dad grew, but is making plans to have separate beds for each next year and says he needs to do more work on them.  I don’t think he will be growing as many things in his greenhouse next year, as it has been quite disappointing, but guess he will still be pottering around outside.

We have also found a new moth and caterpillars in the garden - and from my research, it would appear that the moth is a Mint Moth, one we had never heard of before and the caterpillar is a Yellow-tailed Moth caterpillar, again one we had never heard of - but they look exactly as shown by Mr. Google - see second extra.  

Thank you for all your lovely comments on the Morris Minor Sculpture yesterday - sorry if I didn’t get round to commenting much - time just ran away with me, as it sometimes does.  

“Gardening simply does not allow one 
     to be mentally old, 
          because too many hopes and dreams 
               are yet to be realized.”
Allan Armitage

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.