Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Forty Three

This image is so heavily cropped that I would normally have dumped it, but instead I am going to use it for my visual yard bird record for the year.  This is a red-eyed vireo, gobbling up autumn olive berries.  I actually didn't know they ate these invasive berries although I shouldn't be surprised because I've seen just about every other fruit-eating bird in the this bush.  Hubs and I have managed to eradicate this very invasive (non-native) species from much of our property but intentionally left a patch up at the edge of the woods because it provides nesting habitat for cardinals, robins and catbirds, and food for everyone.  And as long as we keep ahead of new "volunteers" we are okay.  I'll put a side view of this charming little bird in Extra.

There were actually several other small birds with this vireo, including several warblers which all successfully eluded my lens.  This time of year it pays to watch the trees for migrating birds - they don't sing at this time of year so you really have to catch sight of them as they forage for berries and insects.

Several errands today, which chewed up more time than I expected.  It's cool and breezy out which made yard time quite pleasant.  

Thank you to everyone who left stars, hearts and lovely wishes yesterday.  I think those of you who've met my Hubs would agree that he's a keeper.  Fortunately, he feels the same about me, in spite of my propensity to grow tumors!  We had a really excellent dinner last night - I managed to get the steaks done perfectly on the grill and the potatoes and the wine was stellar.  Even had a piece of German chocolate cake for dessert.  We were both still full this morning!

Dark with orange peel today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.